Who We Are

The Fire Awards are presented by the Global Innovation Lab for Climate Finance. Lab Members, as well as the Fire Advisory Board, select and support initiatives that are already “on fire” and proving their potential to unlock finance for clean energy and green growth.

Climate Policy Initiative serves as Secretariat for the Fire Awards with funding from Bloomberg Philanthropies, and in-kind support from Bloomberg New Energy Finance (BNEF).

The Fire Awards are also supported by various financial institutions, technology companies, and policy think tanks. Review a full list of organizations that have endorsed the Fire Awards. To join the list of supporters, please contact us.


Michael Liebreich, the Founder and Chairman of the Advisory Board of BNEF, created the Fire Awards in 2013 (originally FiRe, or Finance for Resilience) in response to the UN Secretary-General’s challenge to the private sector to participate in clean energy transformation. At the BNEF Summit in 2013 Ban Ki-moon called for the private sector effort to take action to hold global temperature rise to 2 degrees Celsius to avoid the worst consequences of climate change. To help achieve this goal, FiRe was launched in October 2013.

In their first two cycles, the Fire Awards were managed by Bloomberg New Energy Finance (BNEF). Climate Policy Initiative has served as secretariat and analytical provider for the Fire Awards since 2015, building on its success through closer collaboration with the Global Innovation Lab for Climate Finance.


Michael Liebreich – Chairman of the Advisory Board and Founder of Bloomberg New Energy Finance

Olivia Darby, Chief Operating Officer of the Capital, Science & Policy Practice, the Willis Group

Gabriela Da Rocha – Head of Business Development, Brazil, First Solar

Daniel Firger – Member of the Environment Program, Bloomberg Philanthropies

Peter Gutman –  Managing Director and Global Head of Renewable Energy, Standard Chartered Bank

Abyd Karmali – Managing Director, Climate Finance at Bank of America Merrill Lynch

Sonia Medina – Climate Change Director, The Children’s Investment Fund Foundation  

Jon Moore – Head of Bloomberg New Energy Finance, Bloomberg New Energy Finance

David Painter, Advisor, Sub-National Technical Assistance Program, Public-Private Infrastructure Advisory Facility

David Sandalow, Inaugural Fellow, Centre on Global Energy Policy and Senior Research Scholar, Columbia School of International and Public Affairs

Kevin Whitfield, Head of the African Treasuries Carbon & Financial Products unit, Nedbank Capital – South Africa

Dr. Barbara Buchner, Senior Director, Climate Policy Initiative, FiRe Secretariat